Patrice Bergeron wins the Mark Messier 2020-21 Leadership Award

The revelation of some of the winners at the end of the season continued today as the league unfolds announced that Bruins center Patrice Bergeron is the winner of the 2020-21 NHL Leadership Award Mark Messier. The prize is given “To the player who exemplifies great leadership qualities to his team, on and off the ice, during the regular season and who plays a leading role in his community by growing the game of hockey.”.

Unlike most other awards that are voted on by members of the media, this process is a bit different. Messier solicits suggestions from teams and NHL staff to come up with a short list and then select the winner. Messier, a 2007 Hockey Hall of Fame winner, is considered one of the most important leaders in league history with the NHL creating this award just three years after his retirement in in 2004.

Bergeron was named captain of the Bruins this season after long captaincy Zdeno Chara (The 2011 winner of this award) has not been signed again. The 35-year-old has been a fixture in his lineup for the past 17 years, becoming a first-round pick while winning four Selke Trophies in the process. Bergeron also won the NHL Foundation Player of the Year Award (2013-14) and the King Clancy Memorial Trophy (2012-13).

A total of 15 players have won the prize – a complete list of winners can be found here.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *